A tribute to the spirit of wild horses and burros

Carry the Light!

Forty years ago on December 15, 1971 President Nixon signed into law the Wild Free Roaming Horse and Burro Act.

http://www.blm.gov/wo/st/en/prog/wild_horse_and_burro/wh_b_information_center/facts_and_stats/history_of_the_program.html

Join us in remembering that the fight to gain accountable protection for our “living symbol of the pioneer spirt” wages on. 

The thought is a simple one, light a candle.

Form a candlelight group, or simply light one and place in your window, as a symbol that we will not give up until each life that is to be protected under law is given the consideration due to humanely care for them as outlined by law. That they receive their fair share of resource when they dwell free on public land and are treated with the respect they deserve when removed and enter into the realm of domestication and sanctuary.

As events are organized they will be posted on this Blog.

In remembrance of the spirit of the law, and the continued will to see it implemented, we will light candles across the Nation.

To get involved contact: Carrol at hiddenvalleyhorse@yahoo.com

PLEASE if you do not see your state listed and want to be involved (a vigil can be a slumber party with your kids or a neighborhood rally) contact us to be added to the list!

NOTE:

site administered by Carrol Abel and Laura Leigh 

this rally is not an “affiliated” rally and is just a public demonstration of our continued commitment to protect our wild herds.

Grave Marker for "Wild Horse Annie" (photo Carrol Abel)

header photo art by Laura Leigh & Carrol Abel

19 responses

  1. North Texas:
    I love it, and invite candle lighters and supporters to contact me if they are interested in a wonderful, hopeful remembrance in North Texas.
    Paulahdenmon@yahoo.com or http://www.facebook.com/PaulaDenmonRealEstate

    November 7, 2011 at 7:20 am

  2. cat Kindsfather

    Nevada has been the home to the majority of the wild horses. Please contact me if you want to be a part of this wonderful tribute in the Carson City area. Lets light many candles from the hearts of those who love the wild horses & burros, & agree with the 1971 act. I believe the act needs a tuneup, restoration to its original intentions to fully protect them in the wild.

    Lets light up the night with a large & loving glow for these beautiful animals, & let the world know who loves them.

    contact ~ Cat Kindsfather on facebook or om.sweethome@yahoo.com

    November 7, 2011 at 10:19 pm

  3. Mar Wargo

    We will light candles for the wild ones here on our hillside in Colorado. Hope the idea flows all over the country!

    November 10, 2011 at 12:36 am

  4. Wonderful! Looking for anyone interested to join me at Mustang Island State Park, TX. Shine on!

    November 21, 2011 at 5:56 am

  5. Click below to join WENDOVER, UTAH vigil on Facebook

    http://www.facebook.com/events/153375844763800/

    ELY, NEVADA:

    http://www.facebook.com/events/242486962474800/

    November 30, 2011 at 2:25 am

  6. Anyone in the Tall. FL area interested in do this? If so, let me know.

    November 30, 2011 at 3:57 am

  7. wendy

    Any one in the Akron Canton Ohio interested in a candlelight vigil please email me. Let’s do this Ohio!

    December 8, 2011 at 1:58 am

  8. goldew

    There will be a candlelight vigil in Ketchum/Sun Valley Idaho on the 15th……please spread the word…..FOUR WINDS TRADING ..380 FIRST AVE. NORTH, KETCHUM, IDAHO…..

    December 8, 2011 at 6:37 pm

  9. The candle will glow here in Morgan Mill, Texas and I will pass it on to many others!

    December 8, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    • goldew

      yeah yahoo!!!

      December 12, 2011 at 9:11 pm

  10. Sue Forst

    I would like to have a page added for Cody Wyoming. Please email and let me know what you need from me to get the page started. I will be organizing a virtual candle lighting and candles in the window for our area. Our winter has been unpredictible this year, so an outdoor vigil would be very difficult if the temps drop below zero as they have already this year. Our local wild horse preservation group FOAL (friends Of A Legacy) http://www.friendsofalegacy.org is supporting the candlelight vigil.

    Thanks for all you are doing to bring the plight of our Wild Horses, Our National Trreasure, to public awareness.

    Sue Forst

    December 9, 2011 at 8:36 pm

  11. I am from Muncie, Indiana. I will have candles lit and lights in my windows. I hate what they are doing to these beautiful creatures. Let the lights shine thru the darkness.

    December 10, 2011 at 3:22 am

  12. Susan Stienstra

    I am in Redwood City, just south of San Francisco. I want to light a galley of candles for the horses and to honor Annie. I read the book about her when I was maybe 10 years old, wrote her a letter and she wrote me back. Let me know what I need to do to start the lighting of the candles!

    December 10, 2011 at 8:39 pm

  13. Please join New Mexico Mustang & Burro Association on the steps of St Francis of Assisi Cathedral on Thursday December 15 at 4:30 PM for a Candlelight Prayer Vigil for Wild Equines. Please bring your candles and your friends. We’ll walk around the Bascilica and around the Square and carry the light for compassionte, responsible managem,ent of wild equiens and all living beings. contact Alicia 505 466-3240

    December 11, 2011 at 5:15 pm

  14. El;izabeth Jones

    Due to Asthma and Chronic Bronchitis I will not be able to attend any outdoor vigils in Las Vegas, However I will be lighting candles at home.

    ??? I have not seen any vigils planned for Las Vegas where I live? What is with that People of Las Vegas, I know you are here!

    ?? I see my name in Black below but it is shaded dark grey so I don’t know if this will go through?
    Elizabeth Jones

    December 11, 2011 at 7:15 pm

  15. Ginger,Karen and Laura Leigh on Dover’s World radio as we speak!!!!

    December 14, 2011 at 12:13 am

  16. Paul Tutro

    I will be having a small bonfire in the front yard of my little farm in Armada, Michigan on December 15 as my support. I will be able to see my horses as I think of the wild horses and burros we have freely roaming in this great country of ours.

    December 14, 2011 at 4:41 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.